Tiny Houses and Living Small

Sometimes, there are things that I come across that force me to examine my life. A week or so ago, I put Tiny: A Story About Living Small on my Netflix list. I have to say, it caught me by surprise. I wasn’t sure what to expect. Basically, it’s the story about how a guy starts a project to build a tiny house. A tiny house is a house that’s around 100-400 square feet. Minimalist living in the extreme. Below are some examples of this. Generally, tiny houses are built on flat bed trailers because it’s illegal in many places to build a home under a certain number of square feet. All images found on Google.

Texas-Victorian-Tiny-House-stairs Tiny House Pano_low tiny-house tmth

It takes the space you have, and uses every inch as efficiently as possible. Many times, there’s a living space below, and a loft type of situation on the top, above the bathroom and/or kitchen for sleeping, just enough space to sit up in bed, which looks like just a mattress up there.

It was inspirational to me. I am in debt because I’ve spent more money than I’ve made on things like books, movies, and other junk. I have so much crap. I have a storage unit I’m paying for because of all my books. I wonder how I can downsize my things. It’s always been my dream to have a library of all my books whenever I can afford to buy a house. Which is the opposite of a tiny house. I don’t think I could have a tiny house, because of the amount of materials and supplies I have for Savory Scents. Nonetheless, it forces me to think about how I can lead a lifestyle less in the consumer space. How I can save space. For instance, owning digital copies of games, movies, and music instead of physical copies (yes, I know, that’s still consumerism, but these are my forms of entertainment and escapism). Even digital copies of books. I love my Nook. I read from it nearly every day.

I’m starting to think how I can save money for my own place if I just don’t buy things. Maybe I can make a larger tiny house some day. I’ve started thinking about all the crap I can sell. I won’t sell my books unless I absolutely have to. I already see some things on my desk I can throw away or sell. I just need to do it, and not worry about whether or not I’ll need it someday. If I haven’t used it, it’s time to get rid of it.

If you’re interested, here’s a resource for learning more about tiny houses.

Leave a comment